+7 (929) 963-30-83, +7 (499) 399-36-48
Moscow
Мsc
INTERNATIONAL GENEALOGICAL CENTER GENEALOGICAL CENTER GENEALOGICAL CENTER
ruen
Перейти на главную страницу сайта Перейти на главную страницу сайта

Research

«You don’t choose your family. They are God’s gift to you»
Desmond Tutu

Research stages
1
Initial data collection
  • Genealogical interviews with relatives - drawing up the primary scheme;
  • Collection, analysis, sorting and processing of family photos and documents;
  • Studying all available sources of information.
? 1 week
Interviewers, Historians-Analysts, Genealogists-Consultants
According to a widespread opinion, all you need to do to find your ancestors is to access a special database, fill in your name and get the result immediately. Unfortunately, this database does not actually exist. Instead of it there are hundreds of state archives scattered all over the country, which preserve ancient yet to be digitised paper documents. Not only it takes time to visit those archives, they usually have specific restrictions on the number of files that each guest can study during one working day. The number of people sitting in the hall is also limited, which causes queues.

The files account for thousands or more pages, and one investigation requires to look through around fifty books. To avoid looking for a needle in a haystack and wasting the customer's budget, we always try to narrow down the search at the initial stage by conducting genealogical surveys and analysing all the data available in the personal family archives.

If the initial data submitted by the customer is sufficient, we can proceed to the next stage. If not — we conduct additional search for the initial information from family members. This includes both genealogical surveys, studying family archives, and work with all available sources of information (Internet, internal library, etc.).

For example, to start an archive search, we need to learn the date and place of birth of your ancestor before 1917. If there is no supporting documents or confidence in the accuracy of the date, it is better to choose another strategy — to start the search within the Soviet period (documents from registers, military commissariats, etc.).
learn more
2
Development of search strategy
  • We specify the geography of search, required archives and select the necessary specialists;
  • Identify archival sources;
  • Compose a bibliographic list;
  • Plan business trips for our employees.
? 1 week
Archival Consultants
The next step is to develop a search plan, according to which our employees carry out investigation in archives. We send requests to remote archives, and organise business trips for our specialists.

Then we estimate the prospects of further investigation on the basis of a primary family tree scheme, hypothesised kinship and official historical facts.

If necessary, we establish partnership relations with foreign archives.
learn more
3
Data Collection
  • Archive research of pre-revolutionary sources;
  • Military research;
  • Library research;
  • Interviews with relatives;
  • Research within the Soviet period;
  • Seeking for living relatives;
  • Mini-expeditions to the places of ancestors’ residence;
  • Meeting with a photographer;
  • Collection of local historical information.
2–6 months
Archivists, Interviewers, Photographers of the Local Historians, Search Specialists
This process is painstaking, long-term and creative. Sometimes, among hundreds of books you will only need to find one page with one line in order to get further research directions. Within the pre-revolutionary period, we revise the census of the population, church-books and confessions, within the Soviet period — archives of military commissariats, state structures, registry offices and registers of tenants. We have enough experience and energy to conduct this work for as long as it is necessary, constantly increasing the number of details for the best results.

Restoring the genealogy diving deep into the history for every 100 years from 1917 requires hard work. Our experts look through around 60 thousand pages within only one family line. On average, one project requires to analyze 100-200 thousand pages of archival documents, and in some cases — up to 500 thousand pages.

The basic genealogical information is in the metric records. In the Czarist Russia, information about newborn babies, christenings, marriages and deaths was registered by priests in church parishes. Such records were organized into books of 500-1500 pages. On average, only 50 samples of such books survive within a century.

Today in our country, there are more than a hundred of regional archives with pre-revolutionary funds with huge collections of various documents. Therefore, it is necessary either to send a qualified specialist on a business trip or to look for the local performers, which is much harder. In addition, due to a number of historical reasons, the required part of archival documents may turn out to be stored in the neighboring area, which can be figured in place by narrow-profile specialists.

In order to save time and money, some researchers often use the following method of searching: skipping every twenty years to find records about the father of one of the ancestors and then to search further with the same time interval. Such work can be done relatively faster and cheaper. However, the quality is matching: low reliability (due to the high probability of confusing facts with namesakes because many people in villages lived under the similar family names) and a "dry" family tree (which lacks the full list of family members). We exclude using this method. We study every page in archival documents, find the entire list of relatives and restore the complete structure of your ancestors’ families.

We had to almost completely give up working with the official requests to the archives. Most commonly, such requests turn out to be unpromising due to the low motivation of archive staff members to carry out such a difficult and labor-consuming work. As our practice shows, only one request of ten receive any answer, which, unfortunately, can not always be trusted.

Of course, rare exceptions exist, but anyway half-yearly delays for each request for extend the research for many years and often leave it unfinished. Thus, the number of studied pages is one of the major factors responsible for high cost of quality genealogical research.
learn more
4
Historical Research
  • Decoding and structuring of all collected information
  • Restoring micro-history
  • Ancestors’ life descriptio
1–2 months
Historians-Analysts, Genealogists
We always find the clues in the research and work on the biography of family members (the most significant is the 19th century, which left numerous archival, historical data and memoirs). We assume the possible participation of family representatives in milestone historical events, and we search for the confirmation on the basis of contemporaries’ memoirs and documents from this era.

The answers received from the archives are carefully analysed. We build genealogical chains and logical relations. We restore the scheme of the genus, put the history of generations in the context of the general history, describe the daily routine and lives of your ancestors in a given time period, in accordance with the corresponding social status and specific place of residence. The entire genealogical materials, collected during the research, are provided to our clients with photocopies or extracts, backed up by archival key numbers.
learn more
5
Genealogical book writing
  • Preparing contents for the genealogical book;
  • Writing the text;
  • Scientific edition;
  • Literary edition;
  • Selection of illustrations and photos;
  • Layout of text and images.
1–3 months
Author-Compiler, Writers, Art Critics, Scientific Editors
After drawing up the plan of the book, an experienced writer joins the project. We strive to make not just a cold report on archive search, but a family encyclopedia, that would become an interesting reading for the descendants, relatives and friends.

To implement this unique genealogical book project we only employ professionals.
learn more
6
Genealogical book publication
  • Development of original layout and design;
  • Layout design;
  • Printing works;
  • Production of exclusive handmade book binding.
4–8 weeks
Designers, Layout Persons, Partners
The genealogical book can be issued in the form of family chronicles, an encyclopedia or an album. We offer various options and materials for the binding: from fabric and leather to precious metals and gemstones. This edition will become an exclusive masterpiece, produced by historians, genealogists, journalists, as well as artists and designers.
learn more
7
EXTRA WORK
  • Drawing the family tree;
  • Development and design of a modern crest;
  • Creating a presentation film;
? 1 week
Designers, Heraldists, Artists

The family tree is designed by an individual order and can be executed in a form of a picture on a wall, parchment, scroll, letter, etc. Our artists will offer materials and individually designed scheme composition, as well as other related elements, and our designers will select the appropriate style and decoration.

The crest depicts figures and objects symbolizing its owner — the armiger (man, family, city, country, company, etc.). Our company makes up modern crests, taking into account the wishes of our customers, if they don’t violate heraldry traditions.

Heraldry is very diverse, although it follows the strict centuries-old traditions. In the Russian Empire, only  the privileged class had the right to obtain a family crest, while in Medieval Europe crests were common not only in the aristocratic circles, but also among rich citizens (merchants, artisans, etc.), as well as church representatives.

To create the film, we will carry out a special documentary video shoot in places of your ancestors’ residence, objects, interiors and artefacts linked with the individual family history.

As an option, we are ready to carry out a video reconstruction of historical events. The client can even play the main part in the film! The mounted documentary will also be included into the genealogical research presentation film.



learn more
Some remarkable figures and facts that speak for themselves
to up

+7 (499) 399-36-48
Москва
Мск
+7 (812) 924-78-61
Санкт-Петербург
СПб
Звонок с сайта
МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫЙ ГЕНЕАЛОГИЧЕСКИЙ ЦЕНТР ГЕНЕАЛОГИЧЕСКИЙ ЦЕНТР ГЕНЕАЛОГИЧЕСКИЙ ЦЕНТР
Перейти на главную страницу сайта Перейти на главную страницу сайта

ИССЛЕДОВАНИЯ

«Немногие из нас, изучая генеалогическое древо своей семьи, не рискуют найти на ветках пару странных пташек»
Томас Роберт Дюар

Какие этапы составляют исследование ?
1
Сбор начальных данных
  • Генеалогический опрос родственников – составление первичной схемы
  • Сбор, анализ, сортировка и обработка семейных фотографий и документов
  • Проработка всех доступных источников информации
? 1 неделя
Интервьюеры, историки-аналитики, генеалоги-консультанты
Существует распространённое мнение – чтобы найти предков, нужно зайти в специальную базу данных, ввести свою фамилию и получить результат. К сожалению, такой базы не существует, а вместо нее есть сотни государственных архивов, разбросанных по всей стране, в которых хранятся не оцифрованные старинные документы. Помимо того, что туда нужно ехать, в этих архивах есть ограничение на количество просматриваемых дел специалистом за один рабочий день и на количество человек, сидящих в зале, в результате чего создаются очереди. Сами дела насчитывают тысячи и более страниц, и таких нужно просмотреть штук пятьдесят. Чтобы не искать иголку в стоге сена, растрачивая бюджет Заказчика, мы всегда стараемся сузить поиск на начальном этапе, проводя генеалогические опросы и анализируя все имеющиеся данные в семейных архивах.  

Если начальных данных, представленных Заказчиком, достаточно, то мы переходим к следующему этапу. Если же их не хватает, то мы проводим дополнительный сбор начальной информации у представителей семьи. Сюда входят как генеалогические опросы и изучение семейных архивов, так и работа со всеми доступными источниками информации (интернет, внутренняя библиотека и т.д.).

К примеру, для старта архивного поиска необходимо знать дату и место рождения предка до 1917 года. Если нет подтверждающих документов или уверенности в точности данных, то лучше выбрать другую стратегию - начать с поиска по советскому периоду (это уже Загсы, военкоматы и др.).
развернуть
2
Разработка стратегии поиска
  • Определение географии поиска, архивов и выбор исполнителей
  • Определение архивных источников
  • Составление библиографического списка
  • Планирование командировок специалистов
? 1 неделя
Консультанты по архивным фондам
Следующий шаг - составление плана поиска, в соответствии с которым представители центра отправляются в архивы. Рассылаем запросы в отдаленные архивы, командируем специалистов.

Затем мы оцениваем перспективы дальнейшего поиска на основе первично составленного древа, возможных родственных связей и официальных исторических фактов.

При необходимости мы устанавливаем партнерские отношения с архивами зарубежных государств.
развернуть
3
Сбор информации
  • Архивный поиск по дореволюционным источникам
  • Военный поиск
  • Библиотечный поиск
  • Интервьюирование родственников
  • Поиск по советскому периоду
  • Поиск ныне живущих родственников
  • Мини-экспедиции в места проживания предков
  • Выездная работа фотографов
  • Сбор краеведческой информации
2–6 месяцев
Архивисты Интервьюеры Фотографы Краеведы Поисковики
Это кропотливый, длительный и творческий процесс, порой в одном архиве среди сотен книг нужно найти только одну страничку с одной строчкой, где будет информация, позволяющая определить куда двигаться дальше. По дореволюционному периоду работаем с ревизскими сказками, метрическими книгами и исповедными ведомостями, по советскому периоду – с архивами военкоматов, госструктур, загсов, домовыми книгами. Мы обладаем достаточным опытом и энергией, чтобы проводить эту работу столько, сколько потребуется, постоянно повышаем детализацию поиска для достижения наилучших результатов.

Восстановление родословной вглубь истории на каждые 100 лет от 1917 года отличается трудоемкостью работ. Только по одной фамильной линии наши специалисты исследуют около 60 тыс. страниц. В среднем по проекту приходится анализировать 100-200 тысяч страниц архивных документов, а по некоторым и до 500 тысяч страниц.

Основные генеалогические сведения находятся в метрических записях. В царской России перепись родившихся и крещенных, бракосочетавшихся и умерших велась священнослужителями в церковных приходах. Такие записи сшивались в книги по 500-1500 страниц. В среднем сохранность таких книг составляет 50 штук за один век.

В нашей стране сейчас больше сотни областных архивов с дореволюционными фондами, куда свезены различные документы. Поэтому необходимо либо отправлять в командировку квалифицированного специалиста, либо искать исполнителей на местах, что оказывается гораздо сложнее. Кроме того, в силу ряда исторических причин иногда часть фондов оказывается в соседней области, что можно узнать только на местах у узкопрофильных специалистов.

В целях экономии времени и средств, некоторые исследователи часто прибегают к такому способу поиска, как перескакивать примерно через двадцатилетние отрезки времени - находить запись об отце одного из предков и искать дальше с таким же интервалом. Такие работы делаются относительно быстрее и являются малобюджетными. Однако, качество получается соответствующее: низкая достоверность (в силу высокой вероятности спутать с тезками при существовании многих семей с одной фамилией в деревнях и селах) и "сухонькое" генеалогическое древо (т.е., без полного состава семей). Мы исключаем использование такого метода. Мы изучаем каждую страницу архивных документов, находим всех родственников и восстанавливаем полную картину всех семей предков.

Нам пришлось почти полностью отказаться от официальных запросов в архивы. Эти запросы в большинстве своем оказываются бесперспективными в силу низкой заинтересованности штатных сотрудников проводить сложную и трудоемкую работу. Как показывает наша практика, только по каждому десятому запросу поступают ответы, которым, к сожалению, далеко не всегда можно доверять. Конечно, бывают редкие исключения, но в любом случае полугодовые ожидания по каждому запросу на многие годы растягивают проекты, которые чаще всего остаются незавершенными. Таким образом, количество исследуемых страниц - это один из основных факторов, обуславливающих высокие затраты на качественный генеалогический поиск.
развернуть
4
Генеалого-историческое исследование
  • Расшифровка и структурирование всей найденной информации
  • Восстановление микро-истории
  • Описание быта жизни предков
1–2 месяца
Историки-аналитики Генеалоги
Мы всегда находим зацепки в исследовании и работаем над биографией членов семьи (наиболее содержателен 19 век, оставивший многочисленные архивные, исторические данные и мемуары). Предполагаем возможное участие представителей рода в знаковых событиях и ищем тому подтверждение на основе воспоминаний современников, документов эпохи.

Ответы, полученные из архивов, мы тщательно анализируем. Выстраиваем генеалогические цепочки, устанавливаются логические взаимосвязи. Мы восстанавливаем схему рода, помещаем поколения на фоне истории, описываем быт и жизнь предков в данную эпоху, в соответсвующем социальном слое, в конкретном месте проживания. Все материалы по истории рода, собранные в ходе исследования, предоставляются заказчику с фотокопиями или выписками, подкрепленными архивными шифрами.
развернуть
5
Написание книги
  • Подготовка содержания родословной книги
  • Написание текста родословной книги
  • Научная редакция
  • Литературная редакция
  • Подбор иллюстраций и фотографий
  • Компоновка текста и изображений
1–3 месяца
Автор-составитель Писатели Искусствоведы Научный редактор
После составления плана книги, в работу включается опытный писатель. Мы стремимся сделать работу так, чтобы семейная энциклопедия была не сухим отчетом об архивном поиске, но познавательным и увлекательным чтением для Ваших потомков, родственников и друзей. Для написания уникальной родословной книги мы задействуем только профессионалов.
развернуть
6
Издание книги
  • Разработка оригинал-макета и дизайна
  • Верстка книги
  • Издание в типографии
  • Эксклюзивный переплет ручной работы
4–8 недель
Дизайнеры Верстальщики Партнеры
Родословную книгу можно оформить в виде семейной летописи, энциклопедии, альбома. Мы предлагаем различные варианты и материалы переплета: от ткани и кожи до драгоценных металлов и камней. Это издание станет эсклюзивным экземпляром, над которым трудятся не только историки, генеалоги, журналисты, но и художники, дизайнеры.
развернуть
7
Доп. работы
  • Отрисовка родословного древа
  • Разработка современного герба
  • Создание фильма-презентации
? 1 неделя
Дизайнеры Геральдисты Художники
Древо оформляется по индивидуальному заказу и может быть выполнено в виде картины на стену, пергамента, свитка, летописи и т.п. Наши художники предложат материалы, специально-разработанные для Вас варианты изображения самого древа и других сопутствующих элементов, а дизайнеры подберут соответствующий стиль и декор.

На гербе изображаются фигуры и предметы, символизирующие его владельца – армигера (человека, род, город, страну, компанию и т.п.). Наша компания составляет современные гербы, учитывая пожелания заказчика, при условии, что они не противоречат правилам геральдики. Геральдика многообразна, хотя и подчиняется жестким многовековым традициям. В Российской Империи право иметь гербы принадлежало привилегированному сословию, в то время как в Средневековой Европе гербы были не только у аристократии, но и у богатых горожан (торговцы, ремесленники и т.п.), а так же у представителей церкви.

Специально для фильма, мы проведем документальную съемку мест проживания предков, объектов, интерьеров, артефактов, с которыми, так или иначе, был связан род.
По согласованию с заказчиком мы готовы провести реконструкцию исторических событий (постановочную съемку), а в роли главного героя может выступить сам владелец фильма! Смонтированный видеосюжет также войдет в фильм о родословной.
развернуть
Некоторые примечательные цифры и факты, говорящие о нашей работе


География наших исследований
развернуть

СМИ О НАС